You are here

The 2014 Edouard Fabre Prize Laureates

Stephane Sebban and Gianluca Gregori have been awarded the 1st (2014) “Edouard Fabre” Internatonal Scientfic Prize for their contributon to the physics of inerial fusion and of laser- produced plasmas.

Stephane Sebban, LOA Laboratory, Palaiseau, France, is one of the leading figures in the field of laser-driven X-ray lasers. He has pioneered the field of generaton of coherent X-rays from intense femtosecond lasers to provide attractive tools for time resolved spectroscopy, imaging and for high precision measurements.

Gianluca Gregori, University of Oxford, UK, has deeply contributed to the physics of High Energy Densities to the development of X-ray Thomson scattering as a novel diagnostics for HED physics. He also recently initiated a brand new topic within laboratory astrophysics (self generation of B field at shocks) that led to a better understanding of protogalactic B fields. The 2014 Prize entitled to the memory of Edouard Fabre has been promoted by the COST Action MP1208 “Developing the physics and the scientific community for Inertial Confinement Fusion” and delivered on the 16th of September 2014 during the 17th International Congress on Plasma Physics (ICPP 2014) held in Lisbon, Portugal.